The USF School of Aging Studies recognized its community partners and presented annual awards and scholarships in a ceremony at USF on April 6.  USF Aging Studies Director Brent Small thanked those who have given their time and talent over the past year to provide opportunities to the School of Aging Studies interns.

Jeff Johnson, State Director of AARP Florida, received the Community Partner of the Year award for his ongoing assistance to the School of Aging Studies.

In addition the school recognized those who serve as preceptors for the Long-term Care Administration program interns:
Joseph Cassiba, Hawthorne Village of Brandon
Kimberly Lehigh, Sun Terrace Health Care Center, in Sun City Center
Scott Allen, Fletcher Health and Rehabilitation, in Tampa
Theresa Felicione, Tierra Pines Center, in Largo
Bob Murphy, Whispering Oaks Health and Rehabilitation, in Tampa
Su Reynard-Suriano, Manor Care of Palm Harbor

Those who work with the Aging Sciences program interns are:
Eileen Poiley, USF Health Byrd Alzheimer’s Institute
Jill Andrew, Superior Residences, in Brandon
Carla Creegan, Suncoast PACE Center, in Pinellas Park
Genevieve Faulk, Aging Care Advocates, in Tampa
Laurie Ferguson, John Knox Village, in Tampa
Mary George, Jewish Center Towers, in Tampa
Veronica Maxwell, Hillsborough County Aging Services
Kimberley Trusty-Doughty, Hillsborough County Aging Services

Also at the April 6 ceremony, Dr. Small named the winners of its annual student and faculty awards.
The student recipients were:
Ashey L'Huillier - Harold L. Sheppard Endowed Memorial Scholarship in Gerontology
Emma Abbott - Kymberly Jane Harris Endowed Scholarship in Long Term Care Administration
Emily Leavitt  - Tollette Family Endowed Scholarship in Gerontology
Erika Esnard and Karina Perez - Wiley P. Mangum Scholarship

The faculty recipients were:
Dr. Lindsay Peterson - Wiley P. Mangum Outstanding Service Award in the Field of Gerontology
Dr. William Haley - Sue V. Saxon Outstanding Teaching Award in the Field of Gerontology

To read more about the School of Aging Studies awards and scholarships, go to