Media contact : Te Leone (813) 974-8592,
Story Source: Chamain M. Moss (813) 974-9179
The de la Parte Institute

" Institute to Honor Three Community Leaders and Former Surgeon General"

[657 words]
(Tampa, May 9, 2002)

The University of South Florida’s Louis de la Parte Florida Mental Health Institute will present three individuals with awards for their contributions to the field of human services on Thursday, May 16, 2002 at the Embassy Suites Hotel at USF, 3705 Spectrum Blvd., Tampa from 6:30p.m. to 8:30 p.m. Additionally, former U.S. Surgeon General David Satcher, although unable to attend the ceremony, is being honored for his efforts at raising America’s awareness of mental health disorders.

Stephen Ferrante of Ft. Lauderdale is receiving the Institute’s annual Innovator Award for his development of a model substance abuse service system specifically for elders. It is the only program in Florida that is both publicly funded and elder specific. The Innovator Award recognizes individuals for their creativity and vision in implementing exemplary practices for serving persons with mental, addictive, or developmental disorders.

Ferrante is the Director for Broward County’s Elderly and Veterans Services Division where he is responsible for community care, mental health, substance abuse, and support services to Broward’s elders and veterans.

David Pfaff of Naples is being presented with the Friend of the Institute Award for his years of service on the Institute’s Board of Advisors, his commitment to the Institute’s mission, and for his advocacy for quality mental health services. The Friend of the Institute Award is given to individuals who have supported the work of the Institute and who have helped to assure its continued impact on the well being of the citizens of Florida and the nation.

Pfaff has been a member of the Institute’s Board of Advisors since 1985 and its chair for the past fifteen years. He has been actively involved in educational and mental health issues, serving on advisory boards and committees of his local school district and community college, private special education facilities, the University of Miami and Naples International College. Mr. Pfaff has served in a number of capacities including committee chair and member of the Board of Directors of local and state Mental Health Associations and was made a charter member of their Golden Bell Fellowship in 1983. He was also the director of his local community mental health center, the David Lawrence Center, and was its president from 1989 to 1991.

John Daigle of Tallahassee will receive the Lifetime Achievement Award for his contributions to the field of substance abuse treatment, prevention and education. The Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes individuals who have dedicated their lives to improving the lives of others, and who have improved service systems in Florida or throughout the nation.

Daigle is the Executive Director of the Florida Alcohol and Drug Abuse Association which represents more than 100 agencies as well as 1,000 individuals concerned with alcohol and drug abuse in Florida. Mr. Daigle has more than 30 years in the substance abuse field both at the community level in program development and administration, as well as at the state and national levels in advocacy, public policy development and associate management.

Finally, Dr. David Satcher is being awarded the de la Parte Institute Humanitarian Service Award which recognizes an individual who has been a visionary leader and whose efforts have fundamentally impacted the lives of people across the state and nation. Dr. Satcher served as U.S. Surgeon General from 1998 until February, 2002. During his tenure, Dr. Satcher focused the nation’s attention on behavioral health issues through a series of landmark publications including the first ever Surgeon General’s report to focus exclusively on mental health. Other reports focused on disparities in access and quality of mental health services for racial and ethnic minorities, the prevention of youth violence, suicide prevention, and improving services for children and teens with mental health problems. There has been only one previous recipient of this award, Rosalynn Carter, who received it in 1999 during the Institute's 25th Anniversary celebration.

Back to Institute News Back to Institute News

©The Louis de la Parte Florida Mental Health Institute
University of South Florida